[BNM] Is my site really infected?

Rob Beattie rob.beattie at gmail.com
Wed Feb 4 19:07:15 GMT 2009


Hi all. When I visit www.altereagles.co.uk, a 
little site I created for my band I get a 
warning from AVG Free Edition that a threat 
called "Exploit MDAC ActiveX control 
execution (type 269)" relating to a file 
called 'www.altereagles.co.uk/favicon.ico' 
has been detected.

I've checked the site as best I can with 
MacAfee Site Advisor and Exploit Prevention 
Labs' online tools, but the truth is I don't 
really know if there's anything funny going 
on or if it's just AVG being over 
enthusiastic. Google tells me this warning 
relates to pages that MIGHT allow some 
ActiveX nastiness, rather than those that 
definitely contain something horrid...but 
since I haven't done anything I'm aware of, 
I'm a bit stumped.

Anyone - gulp - fancy taking their PC in 
their hands and having a look? I'd be 
especially interested to hear from PC users 
running something other than AVG to see if 
they get a message.

Hope someone can help,

rob


More information about the BNMlist mailing list. Powered by Wessex Networks