[BNM] Spoofed e-mails

Joe Aliferis joealiferis at googlemail.com
Thu Sep 18 11:17:02 BST 2008


The sender IP will most probably be a hijacked machine anyway - but its 
good to inform someone their box is hijacked

Joe

> the sender's ip will be recorded in the email. You *could* lookup for
> that IP and contact their ISP. However I have never heard of any real
> action against these spammers, especially because sometimes *some* ISP
> are actually getting money from spammers.
>
> you could also report that IP to popular online IP blacklists. It will
> however not be very effective if the spammer changes ip frequently.
>
> Hope it helps
>
> Alessandro
>
> On Thu, Sep 18, 2008 at 10:14 AM, Anthony Johnston <lists at antix.co.uk> wrote:
>   
>> Hello,
>>
>>
>>
>> Someone is sending loads of e-mails on my behalf
>>
>> ie they are using my e-mail address as the sender
>>
>>
>>
>> I am getting loads of rejected returns.
>>
>>
>>
>> Does anyone know if there anything I can do about it?
>>
>> Ant
>>
>>
>>
>> anthony johnston
>>
>> e:  <mailto:anthony.johnston at antix.co.uk> anthony.johnston at antix.co.uk
>> m: +44(0)7899 793 042
>>
>>
>>
>> antix software limited
>>
>> w:  <http://www.antix.co.uk/> http://www.antix.co.uk
>>
>>
>>
>> DISCLAIMER:
>> this message and any attachments are confidential and intended solely for
>> the addressees. if you receive this message in error, please delete it and
>> immediately notify the sender. if the reader of this message is not the
>> intended recipient, you are hereby notified that any unauthorised use,
>> copying or dissemination is prohibited. e-mails are susceptible to
>> alteration. antix software limited shall not be liable for the message if
>> altered, changed or falsified.
>>
>>
>>
>>
>>
>> --
>>
>> BNM Subscribe/Unsubscribe:
>> http://www.brightonnewmedia.org/options/bnmlist
>>
>> BNM powered by Wessex Networks:
>> http://www.wessexnetworks.com
>>
>>     
>
>
>
>   



More information about the BNMlist mailing list. Powered by Wessex Networks