[BNM] Wordpress Spam

Chris Billett chris at chrisbillett.net
Sat Jul 26 18:40:47 BST 2008


Do you use Askimet? Works well but occasionally makes mistakes...

Sent from my iPhone

On 26 Jul 2008, at 18:17, "James Lawrie" <stwange at gmail.com> wrote:

> I've started getting some comment spam. It's not an issue because  
> they are
> referred for moderation and it's only a couple a day that I can  
> easily deal
> with.
> The thing is, they are gibberish and don't seem to point to a valid  
> website
> or anything, so my question is - why are they wasting their time?  
> Are they
> just sending bogus stuff so their details aren't recorded if they are
> moderated and hoping to follow up any sites where the spam got  
> through with
> the real stuff?
>
> Here's an example:
>
> * mbdswqr<http://black-ops.co.uk/wp-admin/comment.php?action=editcomment&c=5 
> >
> *
> http://mrhnbsnrvyyy.com/ | fovzdu at vvzzej.com |
> 74.211.171.252<http://black-ops.co.uk/wp-admin/edit-comments.php?s=74.211.171.252&mode=detail 
> >
>
> VCl7yc utycemnyqqrw <http://utycemnyqqrw.com/>, [url=
> http://sybtucitnfft.com/]sybtucitnfft[/url], [link=
> http://xbfopzdgerna.com/]xbfopzdgerna[/link], http://jggpdppsuuif.com/
> <http://jggpdppsuuif.com/>
> -- 
>
> BNM Subscribe/Unsubscribe:
> http://www.brightonnewmedia.org/options/bnmlist
>
>
> dConstruct tickets on sale from 11am, 24 June - http://2008.dconstruct.org/
>
> BNM powered by Wessex Networks:
> http://www.wessexnetworks.com


More information about the BNMlist mailing list. Powered by Wessex Networks