[BNM] Domain name registration of similar URLs by a company in China
Nick Atkins
nickatkins1 at gmail.com
Fri Nov 23 10:04:10 GMT 2007
I have just received the following email from netinchina.hk who are a domain
name registration company in the Far East advising my company that a Chinese
company are looking to buy domain names and 'Brand Keyword' which are under
the same name as my company's.
have you ever heard of a domain name registration company doing this? Do you
think it cold be a scam to try and get my company to buy these domain names?
I'm already suspicious as the company who are wanting to purchase them is
Hauxin, which is a bit too close to hoaxing for my liking.
*From:* scott [mailto:scott at netinchina.hk]
*Sent:* 22 November 2007 06:06
*To:* Phil Holland
*Subject:* Domain name of adelphi
Dear CEO,
We are the domain name registration organization in Asia, which mainly deal
with international company's in Asia. We have something important need to
confirm with your company.
On the Nov.21, 2007, we received an application formally. One company named
"Huaxin Holdings Limited" wanted to register following Domain names:
adelphi.cc
adelphi.hk
adelphi.net.cn
adelphi.co.jp
adelphi.com.my
adelphi.asia
etc.
Internet brand keyword:
adelphi
through our body.
After our initial examination, we found that the keywords and domain names
applied for registration are as same as your company's name and trademark.
These days we are dealing with it. If you do not know this company, we doubt
that they have other aims to buy these domain names. Now we have not
finished the registration of Huaxin company yet, in order to deal with this
issue better, Please contact us by telephone or email as soon as possible.
Best Regards,
Scott Liu
__________________________________________________________________________
Sponsoring Registrar: China Net Technology Limited
Address: 3A, Units 20/F, Far East Consortium Bldg., 121 Des Voeux Road,
Central, Hong Kong
Tel :00852-30759838
FAX:00852-31771520
Email: scott <scott at netinchina.hk>@ <scott at netinchina.hk>*netinchina.hk*
Website: www.china-net.hk
Any information on this would be helpful as I have never come across
something like this before.
Many thanks,
Nick
More information about the BNMlist
mailing list. Powered by Wessex Networks